Jerry Craft. Graphic Novelist - New Kid | Kids Out and About Albany

Jerry Craft. Graphic Novelist - New Kid

Northshire Bookstore in partnership with WMHT presents Jerry Craft, author of New Kid, a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real on Thursday, February 28th at 6:00 p.m.

Join us on Thursday, February 28th at 6:00 p.m. for Jerry Craft, author of New Kid, a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

For fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, this full-color, contemporary graphic novel about a twelve-year-old kid from Washington Heights who starts the seventh grade at a new posh private school, where diversity is low and expectations are high.

With humor, heart, and honesty, cartoonist Jerry Craft shines a spotlight on the experience of being a black student in a predominantly white school, tackling tough topics like racism and microaggressions. This full-color graphic novel will also speak to any kid who’s dealt with the challenges of middle school.

Jerry Craft is an author-illustrator who has worked on numerous books for young readers. Jerry created "Mama’s Boyz," an award-winning comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards and cofounded the Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and lives in Connecticut.

Location:

424 Broadway
Saratoga Springs, NY, 12866
United States

Phone:

5186824200
Contact name: 
Rachel Person
Email address: 
The event has already taken a place at this date: 
02/28/2019
Time: 
6:00pm
Price: 
FREE

Ages

6-8 years 9-12 years